PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Ubuntu ISO guidance for creating a "basic" IDS.

stevennlv
July 20th, 2011, 02:10 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to *nix. I've been here for less than a week now.

I've been tinkering with computers as a hobby for about 30 years. (I remember trash 80's.) But I am most definitely an end user. I couldn't code my way out of a wet paper bag. I've been on windows since '94, so not quite 20 years now.

I just got a shiny new box two months ago from dell with lots of bells and whistles.

And I've spent the last two months pulling my hair out. I have been infected / re-infected with RATs, MRWs, key loggers, rootkits, adware, spyware and on and on ~ every two weeks like clockwork. I've zeroed the partition and flushed RAM at least 6 times in the last two moths.

And yes, I know how to "harden" a windows system. What a joke! And I practice safe computing. My old XP system, which gave up the ghost when the power supply failed, was nearly bullet proof for five years before I started having any real problems with it. (And then I had a backed up clean “base state” on disk to fall back on.) I skipped Vista. The new box has 7.

After two months of pulling my hair out I have to come to the conclusion that the arms race has been lost on the windows side of the game. I believe that the bad guys have advanced far enough that there is now no way possible for an end user to adequately protect a windows box that connects directly to the net.

So I gave up. Time to change the game plan. I am in the process of building an Ubuntu VM to act as my default web surfer.
And I'm almost done.

I think I've come quite a ways in less than a week. But, the last step is going to be the big one. And I'm going to need some help.