PDA

View Full Version : The real advantage of Ubuntu/Linux

Jacobonbuntu
July 19th, 2011, 01:19 PM
After a few months of only Linux I start to notice a huge benefit of Linux. In my “Windows-life” I was always looking for the right applications or system-additions to do operational jobs like navigating, making backups (precisely the way I wanted it), showing weather-radar and so on, in Linux more and more I start to realize you can do a lot without additional software, just by using the build-in system modules and handling and combining them with commands.
That, together with the possibilities Unity offers you to organize and make these commands available, “launch-able”, in the launcher, is something I really love in Ubuntu/Linux as it is. Even on my absolute beginners- level It gives me the feeling of freedom and control over my desktop.

What I was curious about: in what ways did you create/modify launcher -items?

el_koraco
July 19th, 2011, 02:17 PM
Mmmm, the Windows 7 superbar is noticeably better than the Unity Launcher at the moment, so I don't really see your point.

LowSky
July 19th, 2011, 02:37 PM
What I was curious about: in what ways did you create/modify launcher -items?

I turned off Unity. I like to the old Add to panel apps that gnome 2 has. Specifically Disk Mounter, System Monitor, and Force Quit.

drascus
July 19th, 2011, 03:10 PM
I agree I switched to Linux fully about 5 years ago. When I use windows at work now I constantly think "It would be so much easier if I could just do this." especially working in a Tech department there are some command line tools I really wish I had access to. But it's nice to get home to my comfy desktop.

BrokenKingpin
July 19th, 2011, 03:12 PM
Mmmm, the Windows 7 superbar is noticeably better than the Unity Launcher at the moment, so I don't really see your point.
The super bar in Win7 is nice, but adding DockBarX or Talika to your panel will yield the same results.

Jacobonbuntu
July 19th, 2011, 04:18 PM