PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Kismet

Fitzwilliam_Darcy
July 19th, 2011, 10:28 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux and would like help on a problem with installing kismet.

I'm following the instructions on wirelessdefence.org (http://wirelessdefence.org/Contents/Installingkismet.htm) to install it.

(I'm using Oracle VM Virtualbox with Windows 7 as host and Ubuntu 11.04 as guest)

When I type in ./configure into the terminal it works fine, but when I type in make it comes with an error saying:

ls: cannot access ./doc/*.xml: No such file or directory.

Does anyone know what this means or how I can fix it?

drpjkurian
July 19th, 2011, 10:34 AM
go to Applications-->Ubuntu software centre and search for'Kismet' in search bar and install it

Fitzwilliam_Darcy
July 19th, 2011, 10:40 AM
go to Applications-->Ubuntu software centre and search for'Kismet' in search bar and install it

It comes up with 0 matching items so I had to manually doenload the .tar file and install it using the terminal.

Fitzwilliam_Darcy
July 20th, 2011, 12:20 AM
Does anyone know what type of file it is or if it's a directory or not? I do not get the file extensions in Linux that much.

haqking
July 20th, 2011, 12:22 AM
Does anyone know what type of file it is or if it's a directory or not? I do not get the file extensions in Linux that much.

a .tar file is a compressed file which has its contents zipped up.

you need to extract the files.

piece of advice though, if you dont know what a .tar is or how to deal with or how to search to find out then Kismet might be a bit overwhelming for you ;-)

what exactly are you wanting to do with Kismet ?

and it is in the repos so you can conolse apt-get to it or go to synaptic package manager or the software centre, depends what you are comfortable with or what version you are using and/or want of kismet

Fitzwilliam_Darcy
July 20th, 2011, 01:16 AM
Kismet version: gpsd-2.96bis