PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Freeze during partition resize!

PloXyZeRO
July 19th, 2011, 02:00 AM
I'm terribly sorry, I posted this exact post in general help about 45 minutes ago. I realized that it would be more appropriate to post here. Sorry for the duplicate!

-----------

Hi. I'm having a problem. This is my first time using Ubuntu, so I don't really know much about it. I tried installing it from a DVD earlier, but it wouldn't work. Then I tried on my flash drive, still didn't work. I realized that the downloaded iso (Ubuntu 11.04 64 bit) was only 411 MB instead of 698 MB. I then tried to download it again, and it was the correct size.

I booted it off my flash drive, and tried to install. It asked how much of the HDD space I wanted to reserve for Ubuntu, I think. I can't quite remember, but I dragged it over to 30 GB. Now I realize that I don't actually need that much, oh well. I got an error, can't quite remember what it said, but then the same window came up again asking to resize the partition. There was only about 20 GB availiable this time (instead of the 320 before), I reserved 6 GB, and clicked continue. I checked back after like 3 hours and the window is white and frozen.

Is there any way I can restart my laptop and correct the issue without messing anything up? I'm not really sure what I did wrong.

If it matters, I'm installing it on an Alienware M11x laptop.
I'm not quite sure, but I think the specs are
Nvidia GeForce 335M
320 GB HDD
i5 U520M processor @ 1.07 GHz (ranked over 3.0 GHz)
Windows 7 64-bit

If there's any other information you need, just ask and I'll try to tell you. PLEASE help! Thank you in advance

lmarmisa
July 19th, 2011, 02:59 AM
Boot your laptop into an Ubuntu Live CD / USB and select Try Ubuntu.

Open Firefox and go to the page http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net

Follow the instructions of the page for downloading and running the Boot Info Script.

Finally post the results in this thread.