PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu on my portable hard drive, how?

garycheng12
July 18th, 2011, 01:37 AM
First off, I am very new to Ubuntu, and quit using Ubuntu after trying it for several days. Right now, I am interested in the operating system because I plan on installing Ubuntu on my portable hard drive so that I can basically treat people's computer as my own by using their computer to boot my Ubuntu from the portable hard drive.

I was wondering what information I need to know before I attempt to install Ubuntu on the portable hard drive. Here are several questions to get started:

1. I've heard that ext4 file system is superior to the NTFS file system. If I install Ubuntu as an ext4 file system, can I freely transfer files between Windows (NTFS) and Ubuntu (ext4)?

2. What are all the partitions I am responsible for when I install Ubuntu? I remember (from last year, when I experimented with the OS) that there are partitions like /home. Is it like Windows's version of "Program Files"?

3. I can always change the size of all the partitions of Ubuntu as long as I have room, right? So I don't need to worry about reserving only 20 GB for Ubuntu for now and then expanding it to 60 GB if I plan to use it more and store my personal files?

4. Is there a way to make it so that every time I restart a computer (mine and any random computer available), it will show a menu where I can select which OS to boot, either Windows or Ubuntu, so that I don't have to manually alter the computer's BIOS in order to tell the computer to boot from the portable hard drive or the internal hard drive of the computer? I heard something about GRUB but I don't know what that is.

I only have these questions for now--once they are answered, I can proceed to installing Ubuntu and get started.