PDA

View Full Version : Development with Quickly

Mr_Electric
July 17th, 2011, 12:54 AM
Hi Everyone,

I need help with creating an application in Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal. I am new to Ubuntu development and I'm trying to develop a GUI application that sends commands through terminal when a button is pressed. I did some research and found out that it can be accomplished through quickly but I need help on how it should be done. Can someone please direct me to a tutorial on how I can develop this app.

Thanks in advance,
Mr_E

ubudog
July 17th, 2011, 03:03 AM
Hmm... for beginners I would recommend C++ (QT). To install QT, run the following commands in a terminal:

sudo apt-get install qtcreator libqt4-core

It has an easy to use drag and drop interface for creating the UI, and a very easy to learn syntax.

Please let me know if you have any questions. :)

Mr_Electric
July 17th, 2011, 10:59 PM
Thank You! I'll be sure to check it out and contact you if I have any other questions

ubudog
July 17th, 2011, 11:12 PM
Thank You! I'll be sure to check it out and contact you if I have any other questions

No problem! :-)

Mr_Electric
July 18th, 2011, 10:45 PM
I downloaded QT and was messing around with it. I have successfully created a GUI but I think I need help connecting it with the main() c++ code (that I haven't written yet) and interfacing that to type commands into terminal.

Thanks Once Again,
Mr_E

Simian Man
July 18th, 2011, 11:01 PM
C++ and QT is a horrible suggestion for what you want to do. It is way too complicated. It'd be like suggesting you use an industrial blowtorch to make some toast :).

A simpler way would be to use zenity which is a command that allows you to use simple GUIs from bash scripts. If you only need something with a few GUI controls, zenity would suffice. If you need something more, then you will need a full programming language, but even then I would recommend Python and Tkinter over C++/QT as the best option.

ubudog