PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] which benchmark to use for evaluating/quantifying system performance?

goodbye-windows(tm)
July 16th, 2011, 07:52 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to linux, but I'm pretty dedicated to making it work as I really want to give windows the boot.

I've loosely followed the linux movement for years, and recently decided it was advanced enough to be practical. I like to say THANKS to all who have brought linux to it's present state of functionality.

I am running the newest linux (ubunbtu 11.04) on an old laptop (2.3 Ghz celeron, 760 mb ram, bios is the latest version). I don't expect it to perform well, it's not a fast processor.

But.....it performs so poorly with linux.....and I am beginning to wonder whether the machine is broken or malfunctioning. The processor utilization seems high at all times, but I am not sure what is normal/typical.

Which of the many benchmark software packages should I use in order to quantify it's performance (or lack there of)???

Are there web resources that will list benchmark values of various machines, so I can determine if my punch box is broken or whether it's just slightly slower than other similar machines?

Regards,

Art

ajgreeny
July 16th, 2011, 08:28 PM
With that hardware I think you would do a lot better with Xubuntu.

The gnome/unity version of ubuntu 11.04 seems to run poorly on older hardware as far as I can make out; it is certainly slow on mine, but Xubuntu with the lighter xfce desktop should be OK.

You might even like to take a look at Lubuntu, with the even lighter lxde desktop. That goes very well on my old laptop with only 512 MB ram. Xubuntu and Lubuntu only come with abiword and gnumeric as office software, but like all other (?)ubuntu family distros can easily be augmented with anything in the repositories, such as Libreoffice, etc etc.

MAFoElffen
July 16th, 2011, 08:36 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to linux, but I'm pretty dedicated to making it work as I really want to give windows the boot.