PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unable to log into Ubuntu

Brooksy_FC
July 14th, 2011, 02:59 PM
Hey Guys,

I've just installed Gnome3 onto Ubuntu, as I thought it looked better than the other desktop. After the installation, it told me to restart my system, so I did.

Now I can't seem to log into any sessions. :( In my list I have GNOME, Recovery Console, Ubuntu and User Defined Session. Everytime I try and log into one I get the same message, for example, "Failed to load session "gnome"

Any ideas around this or anyone that has had the same issue have a solution??? :confused:

P.S. I'm kinda new to Ubuntu

enimeizoo
July 14th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Can you post the content of the .desktop files in /usr/share/xsessions ?

Krytarik
July 14th, 2011, 11:18 PM
Please see the start of this how-to:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1742343

Greetings.

Brooksy_FC
July 18th, 2011, 11:24 AM
Thanks for the link, this should help me a lot...

How can I access the terminal if I can't log in to anything? :neutral:

Krytarik
July 18th, 2011, 09:43 PM
How can I access the terminal if I can't log in to anything?
Well, good question, it's apparently not included in those how-to:

When you are at the login screen, just press Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get the console login.

After re/installing the "gnome-session" package or other packages possibly related to GDM, restart the latter, this would also bring you back to the login screen:

sudo service gdm restartTo just switch back to the login screen without restarting GDM, press Ctrl+Alt+F7 or F8.

Hope this how-to and the followed thread helps you, as I'm really not that into Gnome 3 so far. Or maybe another forums member steps in, to give you more Gnome 3 specific support.

Brooksy_FC
July 19th, 2011, 09:43 AM
Thank you very much for your help. I'll give it a try :P

I'm only using Ubuntu to try out some Java for a website I need to edit. I'm all new to this haha. I'll have to check some other forums on that I think.