PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Programming in C/++

createdcreature
July 13th, 2011, 05:13 PM
What should I use to program in C in Linux? I have absolutely no idea where to start! I am an expert in C, but not in what to compile it in Linux?

cgroza
July 13th, 2011, 05:19 PM
GCC and <insert IDE or editor here>. I recommend emacs...:)

TwoEars
July 13th, 2011, 05:21 PM
How can you manage to be an expert in C, and yet not be able to find a compiler for it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_compilers#C_compilers

The standard is gcc, but clang is up and coming.

Here is a list of IDEs, if you need them too -

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_integrated_development_environments# C.2FC.2B.2B

Google, isn't it wonderful?

haqking
July 13th, 2011, 05:29 PM
What should I use to program in C in Linux? I have absolutely no idea where to start! I am an expert in C, but not in what to compile it in Linux?

an expert biut dont know how to compile it ?

gcc and vim

And a good book by the sounds of it ;-)

psusi
July 13th, 2011, 06:33 PM
+1 for emacs. It isn't as pretty or easy to figure out as visual studio, but it's a hell of a lot more powerful.

Npl
July 13th, 2011, 06:35 PM
Hes is more than an expert, he is a script himself (look at his location). None of his posts take anything said in the thread in context, even if it sometimes fits the topic.

cgroza
July 13th, 2011, 06:37 PM
Hes is more than an expert, he is a script himself (look at his location). None of his posts take anything said in the thread in context, even if it sometimes fits the topic.
I have this doubt ever since I saw his first post.

Npl
July 13th, 2011, 06:39 PM
I have this doubt ever since I saw his first post.More than just a doubt, if not he can prove me wrong, quote my post and say something thats more fitting than random fortune cookies for IT personal

createdcreature
July 14th, 2011, 06:47 AM