PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Internet stopped working



Vizerox
July 10th, 2011, 09:11 PM
My computer froze up and I had to restart it. When it turned back on I had no Internet connection anymore. This has happened once before and I fixed it somehow or mabey it just fixed itself cause I don't remember how to get it running again. I've tried doing the Manuel setup thing for auto eth0 and it says it connects but when I open firefox it says I'm not connected. I tried making my own connection but the same thing happens. I even reinstalled the entire OS but it still won't connect and now the little icon thing in the right doesn't even show auto eth0 as an option. Just shows wired networks disconnected and VPN connections. Been searching for a while and no other threads have helped out. Let me know if you need any other info.

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 08:28 PM
Bump

smurphy_it
July 11th, 2011, 08:31 PM
Open up a terminal window, and post the back the contents of these commands.


sudo ifconfig -a

cat /etc/resolv.conf

sudo lspci

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 08:46 PM
I'm doing this from my phone so is there something paticular you need to know from this or do I gotta type it all?

godjil
July 11th, 2011, 08:48 PM
yes - post all commands result.

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 08:55 PM
Aight this will take a bit of time.

smurphy_it
July 11th, 2011, 08:58 PM
You could type it all or, take a picture of computer screen with your phone (if you phone has one) and then send the attachments ;-)

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 09:15 PM
Sudo ifconfig -a

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr bc:ae:c5:68:dc:08
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:42 Base adress:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:108 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:108 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carriers:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8304 (8.3 KB) TX bytes:8304 (8.3 KB)

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 09:17 PM
Already made it this far lol might as well keep going :P

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 09:20 PM
cat /etc/resolv.conf

# Generated by NetworkManager

Vizerox
July 11th, 2011, 09:53 PM
sudo lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge Alternate
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI Bridge (ext gf
x port 0)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE p
ort 5)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE m
ode]
00:12.0 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 controller
00:12.2 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OCHI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OCHI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3c)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI TEchnologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10th Proccessor HyperTran
sport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10th Proccessor Adress M
ap
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10th Proccessor DRAM Cont
roller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10th Proccessor Miscellan
sous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 10th Proccessor Link Cont
rol
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M98L [Mobility Radeon HD
4850]
01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc HD48x0 audio
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI E
xpress Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)

smurphy_it
July 12th, 2011, 03:00 PM
How do you typically connect to the internet. Do you have a cable modem, or something like DSL ?

I see the eth0 interface, and it is up, but has no IP. The no IP could be normal I suppose for DSL. If it's cable, it should be picking up an IP address.

Try
sudo dhclient eth0, then have a look at your interface with
sudo ifconfig -a eth0

PS. If you have a wireless device I don't see it via lspci command, so I would have to assume it is a USB Wireless device. So to get info on that you would type:

sudo lsusb

Vizerox
July 12th, 2011, 09:32 PM
I'm using wired Internet on a desktop and I've reset the modem and tried new Ethernet cables. I'm using the Ethernet port that's attached to the motherboard. And it is cable. My Ethernet port might have just died. There's no lights on anymore and in windows it's saying my network cable is unplugged.

smurphy_it
July 13th, 2011, 05:49 PM
Time to connect an ethernet card (pci) to your desktop then to get you back up and running.

Issue solved, your hardware died ;-)

idlemind324
July 13th, 2011, 09:03 PM
It seems that you are not getting an IP address on your network interface. Have you checked the cables between the modem/router and your PC?

It may help to do a command:


sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

If that doesn't do anything for you I would like to see the configuration file for your device. Do this by entering:


cat /etc/network/interfaces

Also it may help to read through this (https://help.ubuntu.com/10.04/serverguide/C/network-configuration.html) document if you're feeling a bit lost.

Vizerox
July 14th, 2011, 01:02 AM
I ended up deleting my drivers for my LAN port and restarting my computer. Now everything works perfectly again. If anyone has any clue why this worked I'd love to know.

idlemind324
July 14th, 2011, 03:03 PM
I ended up deleting my drivers for my LAN port and restarting my computer. Now everything works perfectly again. If anyone has any clue why this worked I'd love to know.

Interesting enough but glad you're working again!

smurphy_it
July 15th, 2011, 07:00 PM
Well that's very weird. If I bring eth0 down on my machine, it shuts off all lights for about a second, then brings them back online. Ethernet interface is still down, but lights are happening.

I'd suggest keeping an eye on it. Could of been a fluke, or it could be a warning that the ethernet card/interface is on it's way out.