PDA

View Full Version : Linux software running on windows?

dmacdonald111
May 21st, 2006, 08:22 PM
I was thinking, what is to stop old billie boy from developing windows so that it can download and run linux software and games, drivers, etc.? I mean, it's not like he doesn't have enough money or enough programmings who are competent enough to do it. What y'all think?

groggyboy
May 21st, 2006, 08:36 PM
Scary thought. I'm not a lawyer, and I don't claim to understand the inner workings of the GPL, but if Microsoft does such a thing, wouldn't all their software that uses open-source parts have to become opensource as well?

cheers, groggyboy

prizrak
May 21st, 2006, 08:45 PM
There are already projects that allow Linux software to run on Windows. GTK+ runs on Windows just fine (Gaim), there is cygwin. Linux drivers on Windows would be the dumbest idea on the planet considering that all x86 hardware has Windows drivers written for it by the manufacturer.
groggy,
A Linux emulator doesn't have to be FOSS at all. As long as it uses no GPL code it's fine.

BoyOfDestiny
May 21st, 2006, 08:45 PM
I was thinking, what is to stop old billie boy from developing windows so that it can download and run linux software and games, drivers, etc.? I mean, it's not like he doesn't have enough money or enough programmings who are competent enough to do it. What y'all think?

Plenty of software runs on linux, windows and other platforms. If you are asking could they port GPL apps to their OS, sure they could. As for drivers... maybe LGPL.

I don't quite understand the concern...

n3tfury
May 21st, 2006, 08:49 PM
I don't quite understand the concern...

me neither. vmware is good enough for me in a windows environment to play with Linux.

Kvark
May 21st, 2006, 09:45 PM
Open Source ports to Windows is great. The big market is on Windows so thats the platform Open Source needs to invade to be able to challange Proriarity software.