PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Ubuntu next to WinXP on RAID 0

Mephisto011979
July 8th, 2011, 11:33 AM
I've got a PC ( duh! ) with Windows XP on it. More precisely, WinXP is installed on a RAID 0 pair of disks. The raid controller is one by nvidia. It's been working flawlessly for over 7 years now. When intalling XP I had to load a RAID driver from floppy. All is on one partition.

Now I'm about to install an additional harddisk. On this additional HD, I'll be installing (k)ubuntu to play around with it. I've no experience regarding Linux. Can I just pop in de Ubuntu live CD, install from the disk. Will the bootloader leave my RAID config as it is and enable dual boot, hence double boot between my XP on RAID and ubuntu on the other HD?

Quackers
July 8th, 2011, 12:33 PM
Welcome to UF :-)
When you plug the new drive in have a look in gparted to see what the drive's designation is. eg /dev/sdc or /dev/sdd, and make sure you install Ubuntu to that hard drive.
You will also need that drive designation when it is time to install the bootloader - otherwise the installer will try to put it on /dev/sda, which is almost certainly a raid drive.
It is easy to miss the bootloader item in the installer!!!!!
It is at the bottom of the partitioning page. You will need to click on the down-arrow and select your new hard drive - NOT a partition.

Then if you set the new hard drive to boot first in your bios you should be booting into Ubuntu.

Mephisto011979
July 8th, 2011, 01:08 PM
So, to summarize...

1) I make sure I install Ubuntu on the new drive
2) I make sure I install the bootloader also on the new drive ( Ubuntu detects XP on the raid and adds it to the boot menu? )
3) I change in the BIOS the first boot disk

I now can double boot between XP and Ubuntu? It's that simple?

Quackers
July 8th, 2011, 01:15 PM