PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to change default eclipse compiler

najdorfchess
July 7th, 2011, 02:17 PM
Hi all. I have been having consistent problems with my eclipse IDE as many of the packages are not recognized. Notably the java.util.Scanner isnt working at all. I later found the reason for the problem that my eclipse takes openjdk compiler as default even though I have changed my default system jdk to be sun. Also I have gone Windows -> Preferences -> Java -> Installed JREs and have added the path of my sun-6 jdk (which is /usr/lib/jvm/) and have made it the default one in eclipse by checking on the box against it. But it is really frustrating to see the compiler not recognize my code. Can anyone kindly temme how to change the default compiler? I'm not an expert in this, so well explained help will be deeply appreciated.

Kindly see below for my java and its compiler versions:

najdorf@mynatty:~$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_24"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode)

najdorf@mynatty:~$ javac -version
javac 1.6.0_24

Also when I compiler the message in status bar just before comsole in eclipse window is attached below

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/0089c1f98b.png (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

najdorfchess
July 9th, 2011, 05:59 AM
^Bounce! Someone kindly help

kanishkdudeja
July 10th, 2011, 07:26 AM
are you sure this is the case of your default compiler being openjdk and not something else?

najdorfchess
July 10th, 2011, 10:27 AM
are you sure this is the case of your default compiler being openjdk and not something else?

I'm sorry I don't get your question. My default Java is Sun JDK as shown below

najdorf@mynatty:~$ java -version
java version "1.6.0_24"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode)