PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntuforums: how take the best from this site?

henriquemaia
May 21st, 2006, 05:18 AM
Hi all,

I came up with this question since I do get the feeling that I do not take the best from this trully helpful site. I don't have much experience on internet forums mainly because I never invested much time on it.

Since there are a lot of experienced users here, I ask you to share your views on how to take the best of this tool.

e.g:
Do you subscribe to all threads you post?
Do you hang around just a specific part of the forum, like Server Talk, or you try to keep up with all that is happening on other parts?

aysiu
May 21st, 2006, 05:25 AM
Help others. That's the way to get the best from this site.

I started off in just Absolute Beginner and Ubuntu Cafe (at the time, it was called Community Chat).

Then, I just started looking at all "new posts."
Then, I whittled that down to just certain subforums.

I've learned by teaching and by listening to others.

Oh, and this Google search is the best:
site:ubuntuforums.org name of problem

bluevoodoo1
May 21st, 2006, 05:31 AM
Under User CP go to Edit Options

There is a place that says "Default Thread Subscription Mode." From there you can automatically add a subscription to threads you create or post to. (rather than manually doing it for each thread you post to).

aysiu
May 21st, 2006, 05:32 AM
Under User CP go to Edit Options

There is a place that says "Default Thread Subscription Mode" from there you can automatically add a subscription to threads you create or post to. (rather than manually doing it for each thread you post to). I only recently discovered this feature, and it's great. It's a good thing to have it automatically subscribe. You can always unsubscribe for certain threads manually.

RAV TUX
May 21st, 2006, 05:59 AM
Help others. That's the way to get the best from this site.

I started off in just Absolute Beginner and Ubuntu Cafe (at the time, it was called Community Chat).