PDA

View Full Version : Were you a child computer genius?

jhonan
July 4th, 2011, 11:38 AM
I see loads of posts in here along the lines of 'I love linux, and I'm only 6! I started coding C when I was 3!"

So, how much of a child prodigy are/were you? I'll get you started;

Wrote first program in 1980 aged 11 in BASIC, using punched cards and a pencil (sent to lab and waited a day for the printed output to get posted back)
I joined the school's computer club in 1980. Computer club consisted of a Commdore Pet.
Things really took off in 1982 when I got my Commodore 64
Started coding 6510 assembly language at age 13. In fact, I was that much of a kiddie genius that, because I couldn't afford the 6510 Assembly cartridge, I used the C64 Advanced Instruction manual to translate all the mnemonics from hex into decimal. I then poked these directly into memory, and ran my code that way.
I wrote my first game using this method (a defender clone), and was published in Computer and Video Games magazine by the age of 14.

Legendary_Bibo
July 4th, 2011, 02:58 PM
My brain is wired to pick up and learn anything related to math, computers, and physics really quickly. Unfortunately, I'm really lazy so I can learn something, I just won't do any work on it (homework)

RiceMonster
July 4th, 2011, 02:59 PM
Programmed a true AI program in assembly before I could walk. Unfortunately the government confiscated it. I really shouldn't be talking about this because they might kill me.

Legendary_Bibo
July 4th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Programmed a true AI program in assembly before I could walk. Unfortunately the government confiscated it. I really shouldn't be talking about this because they might kill me.

Should have made it open source.

Bandit
July 4th, 2011, 03:42 PM
I see loads of posts in here along the lines of 'I love linux, and I'm only 6! I started coding C when I was 3!"

So, how much of a child prodigy are/were you? I'll get you started;