PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Install server and deskop

mjbrownesq
July 3rd, 2011, 12:30 PM
Hi all

I'm a programmer (C/C++/Java) with UNIX/Linux knowledge but not a sys admin and I need some help installing.

I have two laptops (with Vista which I have to keep) and I need to run Ubuntu on both machines as a server and as a desktop for various type of testing.

For example I need to boot one of the laptops in a server mode and the other in a desktop mode then use both in a network to test various software. However, sometimes I need to boot both in server mode to test other machines, and sometimes I need to boot both in desktop mode.

I am OK with the basics of dual boot systems but I'm not sure the best way to install both server and desktop versions. I could create enough partitions then do two separate installs; but I'm not keen on doing that.

Is it possible to install both versions in the same partitions and then have two boot options to start in either server or desktop mode?

Can anyone help with advice please?

Thanks.

maclenin
July 3rd, 2011, 01:45 PM
I have simply installed one version (desktop) and then added tools to turn the "desktop" into a "sever" (apache / openssh-server / etc) - ad hoc.... I am sure there are millions of ways to slice this...but it doesn't strike me that you need to install both versions on one system - choose one (I would go with desktop) - and configure - on the fly.... Good luck!

mjbrownesq
July 3rd, 2011, 02:36 PM
I have simply installed one version (desktop) and then added tools to turn the "desktop" into a "sever" (apache / openssh-server / etc) - ad hoc....
Thanks maclenin

My only concern is that I want to mimic standard server/desktop installations to mirror the environments I'm working in; ie standard server (with LAMP) and desktop installations with network support.