PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] help with instalation (im a noob)

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 08:38 AM
Hi, I burnt the 11.04 version onto a disk then rebooted the computer (windows XP) using wubi. It then came up with the boot up (loading) screen them went to a blank screen and gave me thees lines of code:
BusyBox v1.17.1 (Ubuntu 1:1.17.1-10ubuntu1) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs)
I then used wubi to attempt to install it inside windows and gave me the error that i didn't have permission to install it and to look at this log (this isn't all)

Please help me to dual boot (without using too much technical language)

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 09:19 AM
Sorry this is what it came up with:

(initramfs)moun:mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed: Input/output error
can not mount /dev/loop0 (cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs on //filesystem.squashfs

not

(initramfs)

Thanks

goldshirt9
July 2nd, 2011, 09:21 AM
dump wubi and just dual boot.

mörgæs
July 2nd, 2011, 09:25 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.

It seems like you are booting Ubuntu from a CD. Have you tried a USB stick?

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 09:26 AM
how do i dual boot?

goldshirt9
July 2nd, 2011, 09:29 AM
http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download
looks hard but is quite easy

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 09:37 AM
Ive tried that but this is what it comes up with (when i start to boot it):

(initramfs)moun:mounting /dev/loop0 on //filesystem.squashfs failed: Input/output error
can not mount /dev/loop0 (cdrom/casper/filesystem.squashfs on //filesystem.squashfs

dino99
July 2nd, 2011, 09:59 AM
dont loose time with wubi, make a real install:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=10161428&postcount=2

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 10:02 AM
Sorry morgaes i didn't see your post. I can't use a usb because i dont hav any that i dont need or have enough space. Can i use the usb after i put 11.04 on there?

shrakmoose
July 2nd, 2011, 10:03 AM