PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] OS X 10.6.7, Mac Pro Bootcamp problem

Chris Richard
June 30th, 2011, 03:51 PM
Before I get into describing the problem here, I'd like to clarify a couple of things.

A) I have done many hours of research on this problem.

B) I have extensive experience formatting drives, and only a little knowledge about boot systems.

C) Most of the forum posts regarding similar problems have received replies like "Huh! I run [fill in the blank} and I don't have that problem." (NOT helpful at all, and wasted a lot of my time.)

D) Do me and every other user out there that might find this with a Google search a huge favor, please? If you have a clue or an idea about how to solve this, please do reply. If you don't, please don't waste everybody's time by telling us all, "It works fine for me."

I've DONE the research. I've READ the documentation. Not one single solution I've found so far works on my system. Telling me it works on yours not only doesn't help me, but implies that I haven't "RTFM," (which after a solid week of researching this, is frankly insulting.)

The system:

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 2
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MP11.005D.B00

History before the problem:

Running Bootcamp XP dual boot (upgraded to SP 3 after installation ~ problem free) for about two years.

One year ago, ran out of room on the HD. Uninstalled Windows, and reinstalled on a secondary drive. Upgraded to SP 3. No problems.

One week ago decided to try installing Ubuntu using only the distribution burned to CD (no refit ~ and remember, Windows is on a secondary HD, with its own partition. I used the Ubuntu simple partitioning option (to install next to Windows), and it fails right at the end because Grub can't install. Try installing to every other available disk. All fail.