PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem installing Ubuntu 11.04 with BIOS RAID5 via Asus Crosshair III motherboard

fireknigh
June 28th, 2011, 08:05 PM
Hi everyone, this is my first time installing Ubuntu in a RAID system. And from what I have learned some of these motherboard based / BIOS raid systems are not true RAID setups.

I have 4 WD 640GB hdds (/dev/sda-sdd) setup in a RAID5 and an external 1.5TB hdd (/dev/sdf).

I have Windows 7 running on the RAID5 partition with no problems. I scaled the partition size down by 200 GB to reserve it for the Ubuntu installation. Unfortunatly, Ubuntu does not appear to be recognizing the RAID5 configuration but it does show all 5 drives with a single ntfs partition on my external drive.

I have tried installing using both Wubi and a regular installation (USB memory stick).

WUBI:
Looks like it installs correctly in Windows 7 and when I reboot I get the bootloader with Windows 7 and Ubuntu as boot options. When I choose Ubuntu it starts loading but then stops with an error that can not locate the Installation.ISO and halts.

Standard installation with USB memory stick:
The installation program loads up just fine but when I get to the step where I setup the file system it lists the 5 hard drives but the only partition it finds is the 1.5GB ntfs partition on my external drive. It doesn't recognize anything on the RAID5 setup.
As a side note, before installation the built in RAID controller/BIOS/whatever properly detects the RAID5 setup. So that should be up and running.

Anyway....does anyone have any suggestions on either approach? Being able to access the data on the RAID5 partition is not very important to me so I am very tempted to just install Ubuntu on another USB drive and just plug it in when I need to do development work. But that doesn't get me to using Ubuntu as my primary desktop.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Chris

fireknigh
June 29th, 2011, 07:41 PM