PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu Tweak "Memory"

EmmeVi
June 28th, 2011, 07:26 PM
Hi! :)

I'm a newbie in Ubuntu World, so I have a lot of doubts...
Anyway my actual problem is to change my pictures, download and music folders, since my files are in another HDD partition; I can make it with Ubuntu Tweak, but at the first reboot folders are resetted. Which is the problem? Does this application conflicts with another one (as "compiz fusion icon")? :confused:

Please, help me! ):P

Frogs Hair
June 28th, 2011, 07:35 PM
The Compiz fusion Icon : http://wiki.compiz.org/CompizFusionIcon

tekkidd
June 28th, 2011, 07:43 PM
Hmmm. It looks like you are just trying to make a link from the partition folder to your home directory. In that case go to the terminal and type in:

cd /media/<partition name>/
This will get you to the partition. Now assuming the folder you are trying to link is on the root of the partition enter this in the terminal:

ln -s <folder> /home/<username>/

Another reason why it might not be working is because you dont "own" the partition. In that case:

cd /media/
And

sudo chown <username> <partition name>

Hope all of this wasnt too complicated. Email me if you need more help: sonny@tekkidd.com

e79
June 28th, 2011, 07:48 PM

Anyway my actual problem is to change my pictures, download and music folders, since my files are in another HDD partition; I can make it with Ubuntu Tweak, but at the first reboot folders are resetted. Which is the problem? Does this application conflicts with another one (as "compiz fusion icon")? :confused:

At the reboot, try and open 'user-dirs.dirs' file located in your home folder, using any Text Editor of your choice; are the paths defined in Ubuntu tweak still there ?

Make a copy first to make sure you can revert to it if anything changes that you don't like

cp ~/.config/user-dirs.dirs ~/.config/user-dirs.dirs_FRESH

Then open the file and try to change the paths

gedit ~/.config/user-dirs.dirs