PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] grub rescue> please help me access my files on external (failing?) drive. thx.

supermeow
June 28th, 2011, 08:58 AM
hi there,

i'm a total newbie in desperate need of assistance, so i hope someone would read this and help me out.

i have an hp laptop and i had ubuntu on it for 3 years.

my hard drive started to fail a while ago (i had ubuntu 10 on it until 1 week ago) and a then it all went black...

I took the laptop to a repair shop, they told me it was the disc, so i bought a new disc, installed it on my laptop and reinstalled the new ubuntu 11.
so far so good. i have now a working OS, internet connection and i can in fact type this message.

the thing is: all my files are on the old drive, which doesn't load/boot/start/read anymore.

I have tested it on some friends's pc, tried a few HD disgnostic tools, they all send the same message: "fail"

i then tried to mount my old drive (with all my precious files in it) on my laptop as an external drive (usb) hoping that ubuntu 11 could read it as an external usb key: it gets read by the system, but it shows no files at all. it also shows an error message saying the drive can not be mounted, with some "sdb1" thing. i am sorry but i'm really dumb when it comes to tech language.

then i tried to boot it on start-up but i got the grub rescue> thing and nothing else,
just a sad, blinking cursor

to recover my files,i have also tried testdisk but couldn't understand very well how to use it, and then photorec, from which i recovered bits and pieces of files, with no name. some of them are just parts some of them are complete.

my problem is: i have to get access to my files, as I use them for work, i couldn't do a back-up recently and i have some real important deadline to meet... for which i need those files.

is there any way i could solve the grub issue and have that drive load/mount again as external usb?