PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] OS did not boot even once after installation. No error specified.

Chandra sekhar
June 27th, 2011, 04:16 PM
Hi
I am new to both this place and ubuntu. I have a HP-G42 laptop with a 64 bit processor running and windows 7 home basic. I have a 500GB hdd which i divided into 4 drives.

So today i installed ubuntu studio 9.04 in my laptop by formatting one of the remaining 3 drives (windows 7 and ubuntu installed in 2 different drives). so the whole installation was successful & when i start my system i see both windows 7 option and ubuntu option but when i select ubuntu a ms-dos like black screen comes with a lot of lines & codes or something (i am sorry i have no clue of what it is) & it just stays like that. i waited for like 20 min. before i shut down the computer (by long pressing the power button) & restarted it. this time i selected windows 7 & it is working fine. So what could the problem be? If you need any more help like the system config or something then i would be very happy to provide it to you.
Thanks in advance.

Chandra sekhar
June 27th, 2011, 05:29 PM
Can anybody help me please??

goldshirt9
June 27th, 2011, 05:32 PM
mmmmmm seems there is a lot of black screens at the moment after installation.
have you ever booted into ubuntu

Chandra sekhar
June 27th, 2011, 06:10 PM
nope. cudnt boot even once. This thing happend the very first time i tried to boot itself.

dFlyer
June 27th, 2011, 06:13 PM
Can you boot into a live desktop using the cd?

Chandra sekhar
June 27th, 2011, 06:43 PM
and how do i do that??

dFlyer
June 27th, 2011, 06:46 PM
Place a live desktop which is the standard ubuntu download in you cd and make sure your cd is set to boot off the cd when computer starts. Pressing the f10 or f12 key on some computers allow you to choose the cd for booting. If your doesn't than change your BIOS to boot off cd/dvd as your first choice.

Chandra sekhar
June 27th, 2011, 06:49 PM
wil try & tel u in a minute