PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing on Mac partitions?

Chris Richard
June 26th, 2011, 09:55 PM
Background: I'm new to Unbuntu/Linux as far as installing and using on my own computers, but do have quite a bit of background with formatting and partitioning drives.

Can Ubuntu be installed on the MAC partition of an Intel Mac, or not?

Every time I google this question with various phrasing I end up with instructions to use either standard Unbuntu intallation, or use a combination of rEFIt! and Bootcamp. I already have a Windows XP installation on this Mac, and both ways only offer the option to use the Widows partition of the Mac drive, NOT the Mac partition. It appears to me that Ubuntu can only be installed on an NTFS or FAT formatted drive?

I really don't WANT to use the Windows partition, since one computer I have has far more space on the Mac formatted side. Is this even possible, and if so, why am I having such a hard time finding how that's done?

Additionally, I have a second Mac with the exact same setup, but neither partition has a lot of room left. I do though, have two other drives on it with plenty of room. One Mac formatted, and the other NTFS. I can find all sorts of instructions on how to create a bootable usb drive, but nothing on partitioning and installing on a SATA. At least it sure isn't as easy to find.

So the three questions are:

1) is it possible to install Ubuntu on the MAC partition of an Intel Mac?

2) Can, and if so how, I install Unbuntu on a totally separate SATA drive partition?

3) if the above is possible, can I install it on a MAC SATA (Mac OS Extended (Journaled)) drive, and if so, how?

Thanks.

srs5694
June 27th, 2011, 12:15 AM
Ordinarily, Linux installs in its own partitions, not on either Mac or Windows partitions. There is a way of installing Ubuntu, known as WUBI, that installs Ubuntu to a file in a Windows partition. I dont' know if a WUBI install to Windows on a Mac would work, though.