PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 upgrade with video issues

Coyote24
June 26th, 2011, 07:10 PM
Good day,

I did go through the different posts but have not found this particular issue.
I have spent two days trying to figure this out, admittedly I am a newbie but still.
OK
I went from Ubuntu V9.x to 10 to 11.04 in one shot. V9 was stable with no issues for about a year.
After upgrading it loaded fine but had a different desktop (with a side bar on the left and all fav icons in there, called the 'launcher'). when I left the laptop idle for a few minutes the screen would go white,froze and I would have to reboot, after a few reboots my original desktop loaded (without any intervention on my part!?). I am very fine with that since I prefer Gnome (2.32.1) to what ever was loading before. I checked and I am still running V11.04 the issue is that now I cannot have windows that are full screen if I stretch them more then say 4x5 inch the windows content disappear and the screens goes white if I resize back to 4x5" the content reappear? Now this does not happen after I just boot up it works fine for a while with full size windows (of any content; browser, video player etc, it doesn't seem to do it if I open a document) and then suddenly I will open a window and the issue manifest itself.
for example to upload the attachment here I had to resize the pop-up 'search file' window to a tiny 3x4 size. the attachment is the driver screen shot, the Nvidia driver highlighted is the one that worked in Ubuntu V9.x note that it says the driver is activated but not in use, and I have no option to put it 'in use' the only option is to remove it.
I tried removing and re-installing it but got the same mssg. I tried loading Nvidia v173 but have the same issue.
every time I reboot now I get the Gnome desktop which is fine but I still don't understand how it switched from the Launcher desktop to my beloved Gnome desktop?
I am at a loss.