PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Editing Grub to solve blank screen problem

grey1beard
June 26th, 2011, 06:32 PM
I have been running Lucid on a Toshiba Satellite A30, and want to upgrade to the next LTS, 10.04, even though I knew I would have problems with the graphics(onboard Intel 855GM chip), but I bit the bullet, updated everything via update manager, then hit the upgrade button.

Currently, the graphics are working in low resolution mode, and, having read through the Ubuntu 10.04 “Lucid” Blank Screen at Startup : Workaround I assumed I could edit Grub to add the entry "i915.nomodeset=0", but cannot discover how to get at it.
I can't find the grub file in the file system, even with hidden files shown.
Can someone tell me how to find it, or if I can add the line through Terminal ?

As an old newbie, I'd appreciate a full how-to ;)
John

grey1beard
June 26th, 2011, 06:51 PM
I've now found the grub/menu.lst which is where I assume I need to add the instruction, as above "i915.nomodeset=0", and just type it in after the "quiet splash" entry ?
Is this correct ?

John

foresthill
June 26th, 2011, 06:51 PM
This should get you started. To edit grub, use this command:

gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub

When you're done, use this command:

sudo update-grub

foresthill
June 26th, 2011, 06:56 PM
Also, if you want to test out certain grub modifications, reboot and select 11.04 in the boot menu, hit your "e" key, add the code, hit escape, and hit then enter to resume booting.

Modifications entered in this way will go away the next time you boot up, which is good for testing purposes.

grey1beard
June 26th, 2011, 07:41 PM
Hi foresthill, and thanks.
If I type gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub gedit gives me a blank window, but if I use gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst I get the file I mentioned in #2.
Advice ?
Thanks
John

oldfred
June 26th, 2011, 07:56 PM