PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Out with Windows, in with Ubuntu

NBFlyacker
June 22nd, 2011, 03:02 AM
Hey all,

Im new to ubuntu but used red hat many years ago. I've been a windows user most of my life and really only played around with red had. I'm finally taking the step and completely migrating all 3 of my home pc/laptops to ubuntu.

I have one questin. On the two laptops I'm going to do a clean install and completely repartion the drives on them so that will be a pretty straight foward install.

However, on my main desktop, I have a 150GB hard drive that is devided into two seperate NTFS partions. the first partision (50GB) is the root partion that windows resides on. This is also the partion that all of the my windows apps are stored on. This is hte partion that I want to reformat and install Ubuntu onto. The seconday partion is 100GB and it is used only for storing files and such. I have all of my mp3's, movies, etc on this drive. I don't want to touch that one. I want to use it hte same way in Ubuntu as I did in Windows.

When I got to hte partioning part of the installation, I got nervous. Is it possible to format the first 50GB partion and leave the other partion alone and still have Ubuntu recognize it? I was concerned that since it is NTFS, that I wouldn't be able to mount it or see it once Ubuntu gets installed on the first partion.

If worse comes to worse, I'll just back everything up on DVDs, but there is over 45GB of data on there.

Any help or guidence would be greatly apprciated.

thanks,

RB

jerome1232
June 22nd, 2011, 03:06 AM
When I got to hte partioning part of the installation, I got nervous. Is it possible to format the first 50GB partion and leave the other partion alone and still have Ubuntu recognize it? I was concerned that since it is NTFS, that I wouldn't be able to mount it or see it once Ubuntu gets installed on the first partion.