PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot share between 2 ubuntu machines

Rufus_T_Firefly
June 21st, 2011, 01:17 PM
I've tried to find a thread regarding sharing between Ubuntu machines, but I only see threads on how to share with a windows network. My windows machines I have no problem with, it is between the ubuntu machines that I cannot figure out how to do it.

I run Ubuntu 11.04 64-bit. Samba is installed, Apache is installed so I can check the box in Personal File Sharing under System Settings. My windows machine can access the shares and Ubuntu can access their shares. My 3 ubuntu machines will not browse each others shares.

It says "Failed to mount". I can see the folders, but not get into them. What is the problem?

I'm quite new to this (I've run Windows since 1.0).

Gent

Morbius1
June 21st, 2011, 01:25 PM
My windows machine can access the shares and Ubuntu can access their shares. My 3 ubuntu machines will not browse each others shares.I do not understand those 2 statements together. Ubuntu can access the shares - ubuntu cannot browse each others shares ?

Anyway, a "failed to mount" doesn't sound like a Samba issue it sounds like a Linux permissions issue so we need to see how things are set up:

Please post from one of the Ubuntu machines with shares the following commands:

smbtree
net usershare info --long
testparm -s

Rufus_T_Firefly
June 21st, 2011, 01:48 PM
The first statement means that Ubuntu cannot browse another Ubuntu, but the same shares are accessible from a Windows machine. Between the Ubuntus it's impossible.

Server requested LANMAN password (share-level security) but 'client lanman auth' is disabled
failed tcon_X with NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED
Server requested LANMAN password (share-level security) but 'client lanman auth' is disabled
failed tcon_X with NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED

[public]
path=/home/bass/Public
comment=Shared folder
usershare_acl=Everyone:F,
guest_ok=y

[tv]
path=/media/EntertainMe/TV
comment=
guest_ok=y

[storage]