PDA

View Full Version : Considering a tech career

BKbroila
June 21st, 2011, 04:45 AM
I'm currently a college student studying business with an IT specialization. So basically, I have the opportunity to take extra IT classes. They range from programming, advertising design, Media communication, general communications management, network management and social commuting.

For those of you who have had a job in the professional IT world, is there a certain field you see as up and coming? I'm really interested in media communication to maybe work with TV networks or stations.
Another field I'm interested in is product testing. I don't know how any of the fields I can study to push myself towards product testing, but this would be probably my second choice after media communication

I'm not really that hyped about software development (coding). Network management sounds okay, but I don't see myself doing that for years and years. I know I can probably job hop, but I'd rather just not do it.

So basically, have you enjoyed your time in your relative work in IT? If you have relevant experience, do you mind sharing it?
Thanks

Ctrl-Alt-F1
June 21st, 2011, 04:57 AM
I haven't worked in the industry very long. I'm currently working in what could probably called a Jr. Developer position. I've also worked in the systems admin area. I really like the sysadmin field. Surprisingly, I like developing more in the Linux environment, but like administering more in the Windows environment (probably because I understand it more intuitively as I'm relatively new to Linux).

I haven't done any project testing but I have been offered several jobs in that area. From the type of jobs I've heard about it sounds like it pays less than some of the other areas, but it still pays better than some non-technical jobs. I guess what I'm saying is that if you want to get into a technical field, there is probably a more lucrative, more enjoyable field than testing.

BKbroila
June 21st, 2011, 05:24 AM