PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] XFCE - newbie questions

hashcode
June 21st, 2011, 12:00 AM
Hello I am new to XFCE and I'd like to ask few question about usage:

1. How can I disable dragging windows through workspaces? I like them to stay at one.
2. How do you configure startup applications?
3. Why XFCE menu doesn't show some of my custom icons? (png, tried more than one, for custom launcher - eclipse)

EDIT:
4. How do I add custom keyboard? (ALT+SHIFT switching)
5. I restarted laptop and all my applications re-opened after restart. I do not want that. How to disable this?

Thank you!

Toz
June 21st, 2011, 12:25 AM
Hello I am new to XFCE and I'd like to ask few question about usage:
Welcome to XFCE.

1. How can I disable dragging windows through workspaces? I like them to stay at one.
Goto the Settings Manager->Window Manager->Advanced Tab and uncheck the 2 wrap checkboxes in the Wrap Workspaces section.

2. How do you configure startup applications?
Settings Manager->Session and Startup->Application Autostart

3. Why XFCE menu doesn't show some of my custom icons? (png, tried more than one, for custom launcher - eclipse)If you're referring to changing the panel launcher icon, then right-click the launcher and select "Properties". Click the lowest right button ("Edit the currently selected item"), left-click the icon button, and change the "Select icon from" dropdown from "Application icons" to "Image files", then search for it.

If you are referring to a menu entry, then you need to make the change to the appropriate .desktop file in /usr/share/applications

hashcode
June 21st, 2011, 12:30 AM
1. thanks, works
2. thanks, works
3. I do not have eclipse.desktop in /usr/share/applications

Should I create it?

// thanks for comments so far, I made little edit

Toz
June 21st, 2011, 01:14 AM
How did you install eclipse?

hashcode
June 21st, 2011, 06:56 AM
How did you install eclipse?

I just downloaded, extracted it and made link in /usr/bin, so shell knows "eclipse"