PDA

View Full Version : The right time for a new programming language

lulled
June 20th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Hi guys,
I have had this question popping in my head for ages and I just can't come to terms with it: what's the right time to add a new programming language to your toolbox?

Please allow me to quickly contextualize it. I have been a PHP programming for a few years now. I hold a Bachelor Degree in Computer Science and during my college days, I had contact with Java, C, C++, Visual Basic. But I didn't bring any of it to my professional life. I started out as a Interface Developer (XHTML, CSS, JavaScript and etc) and then I switched to PHP.

Although I love PHP, I feel the need to take my professional skills one step further. There are two languages I'm particularly interested: Java and Python. Java is classic. Python is agile. I, somehow, see that both languages have different uses, but anyways, I like how robust Java is and how agile Python is.

Finally, my whole point is: what's the best time to really get into one of these languages? I mean, every time I feel like "OK, let's do it", I realize that I still have a lot to learn about PHP (Frameworks, APIs and etc) and I don't like the idea of "knowing a lot about one thing" neither do I like the idea of "knowing a little of everything". (I feel the same about learning another language when I still have so much to learn about English).

Do the programmers in the house feel the same when you decide to learn another language? "Do I know enough of this to start another language?".

Sorry for the long post and thank you for your time. :)

schauerlich
June 20th, 2011, 06:01 PM