PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.04 x64 - Dell D820 - Nvidia - Compiz won't run

armedmonkey
June 19th, 2011, 08:37 PM
Sorry if this is the wrong forum. First post. I'm pretty new to Ubuntu, but I used the previous version and I had compiz working fine. Now with 11.04, like many people, i'm having issues.

I'm running a Dell Latitude D820 and a fresh / clean install of Ubuntu 11.04 x64.
My graphics card is detected as nVidia Corporation G72M [Quadro NVS 110M/GeForce Go 7300] (it's the NVS 110M - the Go is the non-oem version I believe). I'm running the recommended drivers from the Additional Drivers dialog.

I have tried running compiz --replace and unity --reset, but they both hang my laptop.

I'm not really sure what other information I need to provide, so please let me know.

One more thing. When I run compiz --replace, it freezes on "starting unity-window-decorator"

Many thanks!

edit: compiz is not running,
and I do have the compiz config manager installed.

when I run CCSM from terminal this is the output I get. Does anyone knwo what those errors mean?
http://pastebin.com/2WJzw3ZU

note, this dump is from "Ubuntu Classic"; I get something similar if I run in Unity mode, but the profile says Unity.

I should also say that it looks like Unity will load, but will hang up the display after. For example, I'll see the drop shadows on the windows, the cursor will change if I'm hovering over a window border or something, but nothing on the UI will update. I can manage to click on my Terminal shortcut and type 'sudo reboot' and it will reboot, so it's just the gui that's crashing.

wildmanne39
June 20th, 2011, 09:26 AM
Hi look in my signature it says reset unity and compiz, reset unity and compiz it will fix it up.
To get the cube working in natty use this link.
http://ubuntu4beginners.blogspot.com...ty-ubuntu.html