PDA

View Full Version : a char is i byte and int is 4 byte then how does char a='Z' work

jamesbon
June 19th, 2011, 05:05 PM
I am not clear with a simple situation

char a='Z';

that is what we mostly use to assign Z to a.
Now the question is

sizeof(a) gives 1

and Z is it its integer value which is 4 bytes.Then how can a

char a (1 byte)='Z'(4 bytes)

statement works.

#include<stdio.h>

int main (){

char c='a';
printf("%d %d", sizeof(c),sizeof('a'));
}

The above code will give output

1 4

ChipOManiac
June 19th, 2011, 05:12 PM
I'm kind of new to programming... but doesn't a character variable act as a pointer to the address of where the data is? perhaps this is the explaination... :( I'm not sure... but in case I'm wrong or just plain stupid I'm ready for whiplash :D

GeneralZod
June 19th, 2011, 05:42 PM
As far as I can tell: this is a rather odd language quirk and the reasons why 'Z' would be an int rather than a char seem to be rather murky and historical. See e.g.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/433895/why-are-c-character-literals-ints-instead-of-chars

for more discussion.

sanderd17
June 19th, 2011, 06:55 PM
EDIT: sorry, completely wrong.

JupiterV2
June 20th, 2011, 05:08 AM
A character is 1 byte, a byte in modern programming being 8bits. The maximum values of a signed byte are: -128 to 127, or 0 to 255. The main use of char is for displaying human-readable characters (though not exclusively). Search for 'ascii character' too see what they are.

An integer is an number. It is, on some systems, 4 bytes. That's 32 bits, or 2^32. It can hold a character because a character is a digit to a computer. An integer, therefore, can hold a character since its maximum unsigned value is 255.