PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] compiling Hello World in C

Coach McGurk
June 19th, 2011, 03:48 AM
I would like to get some C and C++ going on Ubuntu 11. I've been trying for a few hours to get Hello World going in C. I have some programming experience in Java and PHP but not C or C++.

#include < stdio.h>

void main()
{
printf("\nHello World\n");
}I get this error:
stdio.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.

After googling I tried sudo apt-get install build-essentials with no change. Do I need to put my source file in a specific directory?

p.s.
When running locate stdio.h i get:
/usr/include/stdio.h
/usr/include/bits/stdio.h
/usr/lib/perl/5.10.1/CORE/nostdio.h
/usr/lib/syslinux/com32/include/stdio.h

zobayer1
June 19th, 2011, 03:50 AM
I would like to get some C and C++ going on Ubuntu 11. I've been trying for a few hours to get Hello World going in C. I have some programming experience in Java and PHP but not C or C++.

#include < stdio.h>

void main()
{
printf("\nHello World\n");
}I get this error:
stdio.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.

After googling I tried sudo apt-get install build-essentials with no change. Do I need to put my source file in a specific directory?

It should be:

#include <stdio.h>
You were giving extra space. Hope it helps.

Coach McGurk
June 19th, 2011, 03:54 AM
zobayer1 you are awsome!!
Thanks so much

cgroza
June 19th, 2011, 03:56 AM
And I think main should return an int.

zobayer1
June 19th, 2011, 03:59 AM
You are always welcome.

When your problem is solved, you can mark your thread 'SOLVED'. You will get that option from 'thread tools' just above the first post in this page.

Coach McGurk
June 19th, 2011, 04:00 AM

Is having it void a bad idea? I copy pasted it from a tutorial I can't find now.

zobayer1
June 19th, 2011, 04:01 AM
That's indeed a good practice, but gcc won't cause trouble with it. But a must for g++.

cgroza
June 19th, 2011, 04:02 AM