PDA

View Full Version : Weird display

brokenlegguy
June 16th, 2011, 10:02 PM
I don't think that this pertains is fixed by the graphics sticky because I can log in to the system.... so here's the story.

- I installed ubuntu 11.04 64 bit via the windows installer.
- changed display to dual screen
- installed some apps from the ubuntu software center
- installed ia32-libs and then xampp
- installed recommended graphics drivers.
- *tried to display to dual screen told x server had to be restarted
- rebooted machine and logged in and main screen is white except for the docks and second monitor has a background image.
- tried to go to system settings and can't see the window to go to the graphics driver setting and revert back.
- I can open other apps and see them but I can't re-size.

What the heck? Obviously I'm a noob and am not sure about my next steps. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Ed

brokenlegguy
June 17th, 2011, 07:39 PM
Okay, I've sort of solved it.

Here's what I did.
- uninstalled/reinstalled ubuntu
- installed nvidia display drivers
- clicked x server display configuration and made my changes to dual screen.
- clicked save to x configuration file and made sure that the merge check box was unchecked

Now I can use the main monitor again.

Here's the problems I'm having now.
- I can't move a program to the second monitor but I can move the mouse around on it.
- I can't have more than one program open at a time with out all the program windows going white.

When I didn't have display divers installed I could do both of those things. Is there something I'm missing in the display driver configuration panel?

- Ed

blackmail
June 17th, 2011, 08:03 PM
I also solved many of my own posts by myself, i feel you bro! anyway thnx for posting the answer though so that we can all benefit from it :D

brokenlegguy
June 17th, 2011, 08:25 PM
Thanks blackmail.