PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] ntfs configuration does not launch

asad.bukhari
June 16th, 2011, 06:12 PM
I am new to ubuntu.

I have partitioned my hard drive into three parts: 1 lean section for windows 7 (50 gb), another section for ubuntu 11.04 (50 gb) and one final massive section for 'storage' (360-ish gb). I have been following the following guide to accomplish this process:

http://lifehacker.com/5403100/dual+boot-windows-7-and-ubuntu-in-perfect-harmony

I am lost in the final stages of the process. The article says that:

"Ubuntu won't "mount," or make available, your Windows 7 and Storage drives on boot-up, however, and we at least want constant access to the Storage drive. To fix that, head to Software Sources in the System->Administration menu. From there go to Applications, then the Ubuntu Software Center at the bottom. Under the "Ubuntu Software" and "Updates" sections, add a check to the un-checked sources, like Restricted, Multiverse, Proposed, and Backports. Hit "Close," and agree to Reload your software sources."

I completed this but I did not get the "reload your software sources" option. Then the article says:

"Finally! Head to the Applications menu and pick the Ubuntu Software Center. In there, search for "ntfs-config," and double-click on the NTFS Configuration Tool that's the first result. Install it, then close the Software Center. If you've got the "Storage" or Windows 7 partitions mounted, head to any location in Places and then click the eject icon next to those drives in the left-hand sidebar. Now head to the System->Administration menu and pick the NTFS Configuration Tool."

I was able to install NTFS Config. However, when I click on it and enter my administrative password, it does not launch.

I do not know how to get around this, I did some research online but was not able to find any solutions.