PDA

View Full Version : Want to remove _ from files and tar and send them to a server

Apoorvbarwa
June 15th, 2011, 03:46 PM
Hi
I want to rename some files in a directory say /dir/dir1 . The files in this directory are in the format file_001.aa. I want to rename them and change them to file001.aa(basically remove the _ from the filename). After this i have to tar them and then send it to a server.Could anyone help me out here.

I have tried the following for renaming them

i go to the directory and then execute the following:

for i in *;do mv $i $(echo $i | sed 's/_//g');done

then i have to exit and i do

tar -cf archive.tar /dir/dir1

can anyone give me solution and also can this be done using only the find command with pipes.

Thanks in advance

Apoorvbarwa
June 15th, 2011, 03:51 PM
Also could you please explain it as i am a bit new to shell scripting

BkkBonanza
June 15th, 2011, 04:57 PM
You can do the string manipulation right in shell without sed.
You might make a shell script that takes the path to the dir to work in and the target archive.
eg. (untested!)

#!/bin/bash

if [[ $# -lt 2 ]]; then
echo "Usage: $0 <dir> <tarpath>"
exit
fi

for f in $1/*; do mv $f ${f//_/}; done
tar -cf $2 $1

The ${f//_/} is the bash syntax for string search/replace.
See this page (http://tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/string-manipulation.html) for more examples of string manipulation.

In my script here I first check if the correct number of cmd args are provided and if not then print a help message. Then I just use for to loop over each file in the given directory and do the mv command (same as rename), and then tar to create the archive.

geirha
June 16th, 2011, 02:29 AM
See http://mywiki.wooledge.org/BashFAQ/030.

Now for your question regarding find, you need to be more specific. What does your directory tree look like? do you want both files and directories renamed? Do you want the entire tree archived, or one archive per directory?