PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Why does he uses floating point on line 2 in this source code?

0101amt
June 15th, 2011, 02:20 PM
Greetings, first of all thanks for all the useful sticky posts. I'm a beginner, and I decided to go for Python as my first programming language. I found a book called Learn Python the Hard way and I am currently reading from it but I am stuck at an exercise.

"Explain why the 4.0 is used instead of just 4."

cars = 100
space_in_a_car = 4.0 #Why does he uses 4.0 instead of 4?
drivers = 30
passengers = 90
cars_not_driven = cars - drivers
cars_driven = drivers
carpool_capacity = cars_driven * space_in_a_car
average_passengers_per_car = passengers / cars_driven

print "There are", cars, "cars available."
print "There are only", drivers, "drivers available."
print "There will be", cars_not_driven, "empty cars today."
print "We can transport", carpool_capacity, "people today."
print "We have", passengers, "to carpool today."
print "We need to put about", average_passengers_per_car, "in each car."

I see no point of using a floating point at line 2 except for the fact to serve as an example that if I have a floating point number it affects the rest of the expression evaluation(cars_driven * space_in_a_car) resulting in 120.0.

So, am I loosing something? Is there another point why he uses a floating point at line 2?

BkkBonanza
June 15th, 2011, 02:27 PM
Maybe he's allowing for children to be counted as half size people.
So you could have 3.5 people in a car?
(tongue in cheek)

simeon87
June 15th, 2011, 02:32 PM
I don't think there's a good reason for it.

The only thing I can think of is that it's the average number of people in a car. If you have 100 cars then probably not all the cars have the same capacity. Some cars are for 2 people, others for 4 or 6. So you could have, on average, a space for 3.7 people in the car.

However, if there was the case, I wouldn't design the code like that because it becomes a mess later on.