PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to disable touchpad tapping ?

GoGoThomas
June 14th, 2011, 07:40 PM
Hello Ubuntu gurus,

I'm a beginner with Ubuntu and very recently installed Ubuntu 9.0.4 on an Acer 8943G laptop.

The first thing I usually do when I install an OS on a laptop is to disable the touchpad tapping (or tap-to-click or whatever you want to call it). On this machine I have installed a triple boot WinXP-Win7-Ubuntu9.0.4 and I was able to disable the touchpad tapping without problem on WinXP and Win7.

I would like to try and explore Ubuntu but after 3 days of investigation I still haven't been able to disable the touchpad tapping on Ubuntu.

I tried the various tricks found in forums like shmconfig.fdi, xorg.conf, synclient, modprobe psmouse, i8042.nopnp, etc...

The best I could achieve is to make the Touchpad tab appears in the mouse preference, but checking/unchecking the options didn't have any effect.
Also I was able to completely turn off or on the touchpad using synclient touchpadoff.
I was also able at some point to disable tapping but it also disabled the touchpad buttons so not useful.

Basically the only thing I want is the touchpad to work as basically as possible ie being able to simply move the cursor and clicking using the touchpad buttons. I don't want all the tapping / scrolling and who knows what, all that stuff drives me nuts.

As I did a lot of experiments my setup started to get a bit dirty so now I have completely reinstall Ubuntu from scratch and so my config is absolutely untouched.