PDA

View Full Version : [other] AMD Fusion APU And Ubuntu Compatibility

Stinky Stinky
June 14th, 2011, 04:52 PM
Hi there everybody! :popcorn:
This is my 1st post :P

I hope you guys go easy on me I am still a newbie lol :(

To cut a long story short I would like to buy an HP 635 because it looks like really good value for money.

However I am very concerned about Ubuntu and it's compatibility with the new AMD E-350 Fusion (Zacate) CPU / GPU or what AMD manufacturers call a APU (Accelerated Processing Unit)

I think it is very new,

Here are some details for those interested:

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4023/the-brazos-performance-preview-amd-e350-benchmarked

And the HP 635 Laptop:

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/za/en/sm/WF06a/321957-321957-64295-3955548-3955548-5086719.html

Basically is Ubuntu 11.04 (and / or others) compatible with the new AMD Fusion APU?
Will Ubuntu work with the Fusion APU?

I am not too sure I want to purchase something that is not compatible with Ubuntu. I like Ubuntu quite a bit.

Thank you to anyone who can help me! :KS

Thanx

Keep well

Stinky

Vaphell
June 15th, 2011, 12:29 AM
Yes, fusion appears to be nifty, i plan to buy some zacate e350 netbook soon.
From what i have read fusion is generally working, but you may need to get your hands dirty, as gfx drivers are quite fresh and haven't made their way into the official repos yet so manual installation of catalyst and/or adding 3rd party repos is required.
Look for more info using google or ubuntuforums search functions.

I expect that in 11.10 everything will work out of the box.

Stinky Stinky
June 15th, 2011, 10:45 AM
Yes, fusion appears to be nifty, i plan to buy some zacate e350 netbook soon.
From what i have read fusion is generally working, but you may need to get your hands dirty, as gfx drivers are quite fresh and haven't made their way into the official repos yet so manual installation of catalyst and/or adding 3rd party repos is required.