PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A problem copying files using terminal

Banshee-2007
June 13th, 2011, 08:53 PM
Hi everybody
I am a new user , and have chosen Ubuntu 11.04 . However , I faced a problem when I started learning how to use the terminal . I tried to apply the copying command at first , but it didn't work , so I googled and found this : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsingTheTerminal

I applied the instructions , but Ubuntu refused to copy files . I tried to copy a file called ( Blender ) and name the copy as gimp , so I wrote in the terminal : cp Blender gimp . However it gave this message : ( cp: cannot stat `blender': No such file or directory ) , even though the file is still there . I applied the same thing in Linux Mint 9 and every thing had worked , but when I applied to again it gave me the same error message that Ubuntu gives me !!

I tried to apply the terminal of copy the whole directory , but the same problem was existed :(

Help please

Toz
June 13th, 2011, 08:59 PM
Perhaps its a question of case sensitivity - Unix is case sensitive. Can you, in the terminal window, run the command:
ls -lso that we can see what files are located there?

Also, note that to copy directories, you need to use the -r paramater like:
cp -r <source> <destination>

Banshee-2007
June 14th, 2011, 09:44 PM
hi
I entered this command , then terminal gave this :

total 580
drwxr-xr-x 3 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-14 23:54 Desktop
drwxr-xr-x 3 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-13 22:48 Documents
drwxr-xr-x 3 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-14 23:05 Downloads
-rw-r--r-- 1 ahmed ahmed 179 2011-06-11 04:01 examples.desktop
drwxr-xr-x 2 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-11 04:18 Music
drwxr-xr-x 2 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-13 14:07 Pictures
drwxr-xr-x 2 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-11 04:18 Public
drwxr-xr-x 4 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-13 14:06 Software Files
drwxr-xr-x 2 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-11 04:18 Templates
drwxr-xr-x 2 ahmed ahmed 4096 2011-06-11 04:18 Videos