PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Linksys WMP110 and/or Netgear WN311B Assistance

OmegaHarvest
June 13th, 2011, 06:10 PM
Hi All,

First off, I would like to say that I'm completely new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so I'm not very knowledgeable about the ins and outs. I've also done a lot of searching already regarding my current issues and have only gotten so far.

I have a decent machine which I'm trying to get to run Ubuntu natively. I have everything going (and am even able to play many games through WINE) but I am struggling to get 2 of my Wireless PCI network adapters working correctly.

I have a Linksys WMP110 and a Netgear WN311B. Both of these 'kind of' work. In my searches, I have come across an application called 'ndiswrapper' but have had limited success with this, despite the tool looking very promising. I'll go through the issues I've had with each card.

The Linksys WMP110 works, but only at about 20% of the speed it should. I also have Windows (sadly) installed on the same machine and the network speed on this is as it should be. I have tried adding the WinXP drivers for this card using ndiswrapper but am having no luck. I'm using the x64 distro of Ubuntu and made sure I was running 64bit drivers. I got to one point where I ran a command and it said that ndiswrapper was running fine (after I had been through the motions getting errors due to the drivers not being 64 bit previously). Sadly I have forgotten this command, but it was very handy. Yet despite this reporting ndiswrapper working fine, I have no wlan0 at all and could get no further than this.