PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Setting up Server network

FerraraZ
June 13th, 2011, 03:15 PM
Hey everyone, firstly I'm a huge newbie with Ubuntu but slowly learning as I go. I've been following the this guide:

http://net.tutsplus.com/tutorials/ph...rver-for-free/

To setup a web server at my office (intern). I'm stuck at updating the web server with the given distro's. We dont use DHCP and the computer must have static ip address. I've checked this in /etc/network/interfaces and from what I am seeing, everything is correct (ip address, subnet mask, default gateway, dns servers) however when I go to update I'm still receiving "temporary failure resolving 'us.archive.ubuntu.com etc"

Is there something I am missing or something that I can change or check? Weird thing is, when I install the ubuntu live disk and have eht0 sets with these values, I can connect to the internet without a problem.

collisionystm
June 13th, 2011, 03:19 PM
Hey everyone, firstly I'm a huge newbie with Ubuntu but slowly learning as I go. I've been following the this guide:

http://net.tutsplus.com/tutorials/ph...rver-for-free/

To setup a web server at my office (intern). I'm stuck at updating the web server with the given distro's. We dont use DHCP and the computer must have static ip address. I've checked this in /etc/network/interfaces and from what I am seeing, everything is correct (ip address, subnet mask, default gateway, dns servers) however when I go to update I'm still receiving "temporary failure resolving 'us.archive.ubuntu.com etc"

Is there something I am missing or something that I can change or check? Weird thing is, when I install the ubuntu live disk and have eht0 sets with these values, I can connect to the internet without a problem.

post your /etc/network/interfaces file output

Can you ping google.com or ubuntu.com

Your DNS server address should be placed in

/etc/resolv.conf

it should say

nameserver xxx.xxx.xxx

I.E..

nameserver 8.8.8.8

FerraraZ