PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Code running through my screen

Hoten96
June 13th, 2011, 02:24 AM
Hi guys! I'm new to Linux as well as to the forums. My problem is: when I try to run Ubuntu 11.04 (At least I think it is), the menu asking if I want to try it or install comes up. Whichever button I click, it freezes, then goes into a line of code. It says:

[ 0.06003] [<c1******>] ? *******************

the asterisks are flashing miners and letters. Please help, I really want to install Ubuntu.

Oh yeah, my laptop is a toshiba satellite with 1.86ghz and 512Mb ram. The reason I want ubuntu is because xp doesn't work, I think it crashed on my laptop.

mörgæs
June 13th, 2011, 03:18 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.

You could try using the alternate ISO for installing. You can download it from the link in my signature.

Hoten96
June 13th, 2011, 04:37 AM
Now it says 0.056003, but the rest stay the same.

Would this happen if I had a WINDOWS/system32/config/SYSTEM corruption?

Also, if I have 512MB of RAM, would that also impede the download process?

akand074
June 13th, 2011, 04:47 AM

https://help.ubuntu.com/11.04/installation-guide/i386/minimum-hardware-reqts.html

512MB is recommended, so it should be fine. XUbuntu is Ubuntu with a lighter desktop environment and LUbuntu is Ubuntu with an even lighter DE so those are options. But Ubuntu should be fine with that. Nothing in your windows install should matter at all.

Did you download the 32 bit version from ubuntu.com (http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/download) and burn/verify to make sure the disk is okay?

Hoten96
June 13th, 2011, 04:50 AM
Well, it works fine on my computer with the same CD, and I have 32-bit, so I'm not sure what's going on. Maybe it's my computer?

mörgæs
June 13th, 2011, 05:44 AM

You want to install Ubuntu in stead of the faulty Windows, right? In that case nothing in the old setup matters.

You could try adding boot options as described here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1580857