PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] LAMP server

RickLabelle
June 12th, 2011, 08:29 PM
Hello, I am new to linux/ubuntu. I have installed lamp server on my ubuntu 10.04 desktop computer, and now I just get the terminal prompt. I typed "sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop", and I get some errors. After researching online, I did an apt-get update, but that failed as well. I added lamp to my desktop because I need an online calendar setup.

sanderd17
June 12th, 2011, 08:32 PM
Hello, I am new to linux/ubuntu. I have installed lamp server on my ubuntu 10.04 desktop computer, and now I just get the terminal prompt. I typed "sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop", and I get some errors. After researching online, I did an apt-get update, but that failed as well. I added lamp to my desktop because I need an online calendar setup.

can you give the output of apt-get update? Output is important for troubleshooting.

Just in case your desktop is still installed, try running

startx

from the terminal.

RickLabelle
June 12th, 2011, 08:42 PM
Hi Sanerd17, thanks for your reply. I tried the startx but it responded with "apt-get install initx" because startx was not installed. I did that apt-get and it failed. Also, how do I post the output? the screen scrolls for quite a bit before stopping on the prompt. How would I back it up to post it on this thread which I am using a windows laptop.

sanderd17
June 12th, 2011, 08:43 PM
I think I could do something with the last lines, take a picture of it.

RickLabelle
June 12th, 2011, 08:59 PM
Sanderd17 Attached is the picture of the display after the apt-get update

file:///C:/Users/Tech/Desktop/photo%283%29.JPGfile:///C:/Users/Tech/Desktop/photo%283%29.JPGhttp://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=10932237#post10932237

sanderd17
June 12th, 2011, 09:37 PM
I'm not able to view it, you used the online pictures tool, you need to add the picture as attachment (the bottom of the new reply form)

RickLabelle
June 12th, 2011, 10:01 PM