PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob - Help With resolution

emgineering
June 12th, 2011, 02:23 AM
Hello. I'm a noob at linux, just downloaded 2 days ago and I'm overwhelmed with the amount of information out there....

I hooked up an old tv to my old desktop, and my old tv has these horizontal lines at the top. What I want to do is resize the screen so that my screen is below the horizontal lines, I don't need to use that top part of my tv screen.

Anyway, I tried reading about xrandr and what not, but don't understand what to do. When I run xrandr -q I get this:

xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 1280 x 1024, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x1024 0.0*

So, I understand I need to add more resolutions and something about a config file..... but like I said this is way over my head. Can someone help me out and guide me so that I can fix this?? Thanks a lot!!

jarrah-95
June 12th, 2011, 02:53 AM
from the sounds of what you just said, you want to move the picture down below the lines in the screen?
it easiest way to do that is to use the menu on the tv, to change the position of the picture, an then re-size it. i cant explain it here in detail as all tv's are different, but if you go into the menu, then picture, it should be quite simple.

hope this helps

jarrah

emgineering
June 12th, 2011, 03:02 AM
thanx for the response!

I tried doing that. For some reason, my tv wont move the screen much at all just a few centimeters and wont resize.... its weird.... hahaha that's why I was trying to do it within ubuntu.

emgineering
June 12th, 2011, 07:18 AM
Bump....

Anyone with any other ideas??