PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] shortcuts for websearches

CryptKeeper777
June 11th, 2011, 03:43 PM
I'm new to Linux and just setting up Ubuntu 11.04 as a second OS on my MacBook. Now I'm looking for an application that allows me to define global shortcuts for self-defined web searches. On OS X I use the app "Butler" for this, and it works the following:

When I press ctrl-g, a small window appears, where I can type what I want to search in google, and when I press enter, Google is opened in Firefox searching for the words I've typed in. The same way, I can make Google Images-searches with ctrl-i, Wikipedia-searches with ctrl-w and so on. In the App, I can define searches by pasting the URL-string that appears before the search keywords in the browser and the string that appears after the keywords, plus the shortcut. This way shortcuts for any web searches that include the search keywords in the browser URL can be created.

Is there a linux-application for this?

sanderd17
June 11th, 2011, 03:48 PM
There is more than one app that can do this. Maybe you can take a look at synapse (in the software center).

Mabe gnome-do can do that, there is probably a unity plugin and it's build in gnome-shell.

EDIT: sorry, synapse is not so extended. There are plugins for it, so maybe those plugins give other search engines.

sanderd17
June 11th, 2011, 04:04 PM
What do you think of this Unity lens? http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2011/05/web-sources-lens-for-unity-puts-web-search-on-your-ubuntu-desktop/

Lenses can be launched by the super key and a letter (hold the super key to see what letter). I'm on gnome-shell right now, so I can't test it.

CryptKeeper777
June 12th, 2011, 02:11 PM
I've now installed gnome-do with the google search plugin, now I can at least make Google searches again.