PDA

View Full Version : [other] kernel 2.6.39.1 installation

victor_sk
June 10th, 2011, 11:58 PM
Hi everyone,

I've got a bit of a problem here installing kernel 2.6.39. I'm a CS student curious about OS and its inner workings so I attempted to build and install kernel on my own. The book which I read advised that I don't install kernel as root but most of the commands still required me to execute using 'sudo'.

- using 'make menuconfig' tool "Device Drivers" I've added device support for my Dell machine (but I don't think this could cause any problems).

- I executed the 'make ARCH=x86_64 defconfig' and compiled with 'make -j4' command because I have a dual core processor.

When I try to select the new kernel from boot menu and run it in "Recovery Mode" I get these errors:

No filesystem could mount root, tried: ext3 vfat msdos
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown block (8, 2)

I can still load my original Ubuntu installation but need some advise on how to build kernel in Ubuntu. Perhaps there are some specific steps I need to follow to install a kernel in Ubuntu or could it be a bug in kernel itself?

Thank you,
Victor.

dabl
June 11th, 2011, 02:50 AM
If you want a 2.6.39 kernel, just install a Ubuntu 11.10 daily build.

http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily/current/

Alternatively, if your goal is to build a Gnu/Linux OS from scratch, then you don't want Ubuntu, you want Linux From Scratch: http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/

sbraz
June 11th, 2011, 07:14 AM
this is one of my build scripts called "buildonly". i often start it in single user mode to have the least amount of processes running (=save time). i'm not sure "fakeroot" is needed but it surely won't cause any harm. :)

#
# cleanup
#
make clean
make-kpkg clean
#
# build new kernel
#
date > /usr/src/compile-time
fakeroot make deb-pkg
date >> /usr/src/compile-time
#
# choose your preferred deus-ex-machina
#
shutdown -h now
#reboot