PDA

View Full Version : Hi, brand new to Linux

Ceretrea
June 6th, 2011, 10:44 PM
Thought I'd put up an intro post. I apologise in advance for stupid questions, I've a huge learning curve to negotiate. Its all a bit confusing and overwhelming but I'm sure I'll get there in the end.

I have always used some version of Windows. Until a very nasty virus forced a complete reformat using Ubuntu which was recommended to me by family. I am totally new to Linux, the terminal has me quaking in my boots lol I have to say though, as a convert I am very impressed with how easy it is to come into initially, very impressed with how it looks and the increase in performance.

If anyone can point me in the direction of an idiots guide to the basics I'd appreciate it ;) Then I just have to get my head round how to run games in Wine like Oblivion and WoW.

Oh and thank you in advance to anyone with the patience to answer those stupid questions 8-[

el_koraco
June 6th, 2011, 10:47 PM
http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com/download/ubuntupocketguide-v1-1.zip

themarker0
June 6th, 2011, 10:47 PM
Running things in wine is easy, just visit WineHQ, they usually have instructions, or run perfectly.

Ceretrea
June 6th, 2011, 10:48 PM
Thank you already! That was fast :)

Legendary_Bibo
June 6th, 2011, 10:50 PM
With Ubuntu you probably wouldn't need to ever use the terminal if you're lucky and everything is working for you.

Gremlinzzz
June 6th, 2011, 10:56 PM
Thought I'd put up an intro post. I apologise in advance for stupid questions, I've a huge learning curve to negotiate. Its all a bit confusing and overwhelming but I'm sure I'll get there in the end.