PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] x86 or 64 bit



MYHEADHURTS
June 6th, 2011, 12:12 PM
Hello,
I want to install Ubuntu Studio, I have an intel i5 processor,
it is 64 bit with x86 architechture(?)

Do I install 'PC (Intel x86) (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntustudio/releases/11.04/release/ubuntustudio-11.04-alternate-i386.iso)' or64-bit PC (AMD64) (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntustudio/releases/11.04/release/ubuntustudio-11.04-alternate-amd64.iso) ? ,, I think the first one but its not clear, they both match but one must be better,,?

THANKYOU

el_koraco
June 6th, 2011, 12:14 PM
You can install either, but since your processor is 64 bit, I'd install the 64 bit (AMD64, x86_64) version.

RamsesII
June 6th, 2011, 12:23 PM
I'd suggest 64bits. Your processor is a 64bits so if you want to take full advantage of it install a 64bits OS.

TBABill
June 6th, 2011, 01:52 PM
Hello,
I want to install Ubuntu Studio, I have an intel i5 processor,
it is 64 bit with x86 architechture(?)

Do I install 'PC (Intel x86) (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntustudio/releases/11.04/release/ubuntustudio-11.04-alternate-i386.iso)' or64-bit PC (AMD64) (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntustudio/releases/11.04/release/ubuntustudio-11.04-alternate-amd64.iso) ? ,, I think the first one but its not clear, they both match but one must be better,,?

THANKYOU It's not a question of "better". These are two different architectures that your system, fortunately, can run. It's a user choice which you decide to run. I run 64 bit on my Core i3 system, but it is just as happy on 32 bit. This is a highly debated topic and I won't try to sway you either way. Search Google or the forums for topics and discussions. Here is a link to the two technologies: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64-bit

MYHEADHURTS
June 8th, 2011, 02:50 PM
Thanks for the advice, I'll go for yhe 64bit version
( at the moment I use the normal x86 10.10 and I have problems with the machine crashing, mostly audacity,(its what I use most) Iv ran it on an older machine with Ubuntu and windows and never had this problem.So if the new 64bit studio doesn't then ther is a difference,I'll see)

Also to el_koraco (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=1232725) ,yes your rite the (AMD64, x86_64) version, is probbaly the rite one,if it was there(the clue is in the question )

sincearly J