PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please Help! Absolute Newbie. Blank Monitor

bluetortilla
June 5th, 2011, 04:50 PM
I have a Panasonic Let's Note laptop with a cracked (indecipherable but working) monitor. I have a 15' LCD Samsung monitor attached via the VGA port. I slicked the drive and installed Ubuntu 11.04. It only works if I boot off the CD or if hold shift and boot it in a safe graphics mode. I suppose it's the graphics card, but XP worked fine. The Displays Panel shows 'Unknown' as in the pic.
Sometimes holding down shift does nothing.

I want reliable boots and a stable system. Can some PLEASE help config the display? This is my third post.

Thank you.

wildmanne39
June 5th, 2011, 08:40 PM
I have a Panasonic Let's Note laptop with a cracked (indecipherable but working) monitor. I have a 15' LCD Samsung monitor attached via the VGA port. I slicked the drive and installed Ubuntu 11.04. It only works if I boot off the CD or if hold shift and boot it in a safe graphics mode. I suppose it's the graphics card, but XP worked fine. The Displays Panel shows 'Unknown' as in the pic.
Sometimes holding down shift does nothing.

I want reliable boots and a stable system. Can some PLEASE help config the display? This is my third post.

Thank you.
Hi, the problem is no one knows the answer I have a problem like that to and no answer, just so you know you are only allowed to have one post for each problem. What you do after you post wait 24 hours, then bump your thread so it is moved up to the first page again.

jramshu
June 5th, 2011, 09:57 PM
What kind of graphics card do you have?

bluetortilla
June 6th, 2011, 12:13 PM
What kind of graphics card do you have?

What can I run to find out? I couldn't find that spec on the web.

alphacrucis2
June 6th, 2011, 01:18 PM
What can I run to find out? I couldn't find that spec on the web.

Enter command:

sudo lshw -C display

Post output back here..